Auckland Plunket Shield team, 1907-08; 1907; DC.14.01.06


Auckland Plunket Shield team, 1907-08

About this object

The team photo of the 1907-08 Auckland side that won the Plunket Shield from Canterbury.

In May 1907 the Plunket Shield was given to Canterbury who were announced as the inaugural holders in a highly controversial decision. To be played for on a challenge basis, the match between Auckland and Canterbury, played at Hagley Park on December 14, 16 & 17 1907, was the first match in Plunket Shield history.

After bowling Canterbury out for 190, led by Albert Relf's 6 for 64, Auckland then piled on 539. Again it was Relf to the fore as he hit 157, joined by Lancelot Hemus who scored 148. The challenge was too much for Canterbury as they were bowled out for 214 in their second innings, giving Auckland an innings and 135-run win.

STANDING (L to R): AM Howden; W Brook-Smith; GB Cummings; AE Relf; W Robinson.
SEATED (L to R): Watts; JM Hussey; AE Hadden; Franks (manager); LG Hemus; FL Prime; Hay.
FRONT (L to R): PC White; FR Mason.

Date Made


Object Type


Medium and Materials

Digital file

Credit Line

New Zealand Cricket Museum

Object number


Copyright Licence  

All rights reserved

This object is from