HomeMuseum Detail

Glentunnel Museum, Canterbury, New Zealand

Account profile image
Glentunnel Museum contains an extensive collection of items recording the history of the area which has seen much rural industrialism, particularly the pottery and brickworks.

The museum has an extensive library and history of local service men who fought in WW1 and WW2, as well as the local school which was set up in 1879.

The building in which the museum is housed was originally the Odd Fellows Hall. Built in 1908, it served as a Lodge Hall until 1968. In 1970 it was leased by the Selwyn District Council who purchased the building in 1985.


Contact Details
Telephone number icon027 670 8303 (Mr Tony Airs)
Facebook icon


Visitor Information
Physical address icon5 Philip Street, Glentunnel, Canterbury, New Zealand, New Zealand
Hours of operation iconSunday 1pm - 4pm during Daylight Savings. OR By appointment
Charges iconFree of charge - donations welcomed.


Facilities
Wheelchair accessReference LibraryParkingToilets



-43.48093171.9312416


Search Collection

Explore Collection

Entire Collection -View all (33)
History -View all (33)
Naylor Marsaut miner's safety lamp with double bifold burner, c. 1900. Produced  by J H Naylor Ltd of Wigan.; J H Naylor; 1900; GCM.001.003 Pit Pony Boots (Coal Mine) x 2; 1900; GCM.001.012 Photograph: Country Women's Institute Conference, Wellington.; W H Raine; CCWI.001.080 Early miners' carbide lamp attached to miner helmet ; 1900; GCM.001.008